HISTORY OF THE EMMANUEL MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH

1915 2020

In 1915 a group of Christians, a branch of the Union Hill Baptist Church decided to launch and organize a church, dedicated to God for the saving of souls. organizers were Reverends Collins and Crumbly. Deacons W. M. Newton, Jim Smith E. Reed, Wills Shinol, George Hogue and Professor J. W. Williams, along with Mrs. Sallie Moore. They decided on the name Emmanuel, which means "God with us." Rev. Jesse Conyers was the first pastor and Mrs. Sallie Moore was the first Rev. Conyers served two years after which the church called Rev. Howard, who also labored with us for two years, then came Rev. Sanky, Rev. Bettington and Rev. Taylor. The next to accept the responsibility was Rev. Butler, following him was Rev. P. B. Black. It was during his administration that the church joined the District Association, and then known as the North Chattanooga, Chickamauga District, of which he became Moderator. He labored with us until 1925 when he resigned. The church then called Rev. S. M. Washington from the St. Elmo Baptist Church. It was during his leadership that the church was destroyed by fire. The worship services were held in the Chattanooga Avenue School until we could rebuild our church. The church was completed with the cooperation of the members and the generous donation by Mr. M. M. Hedges of Hedged Foundry in the sum of \$1000.00. Rev. Washington was stricken in the pulpit and went home to his reward the following Thursday. The church then called Rev. R. M. Mitchell from the First Baptist Church of Tuscombia, Alabama. The next to lead us was Rev. I. S. Powell from Memphis, Tennessee. The church was connected with the State and National Convention, under his leadership. After Rev. Powell resigned, the church called Rev. W. W. Taylor of the Mt. Zion Baptist Church of Dayton Tennessee. He was a very spiritual and capable leader. The church went to the pooling system and the General Auxiliary was organized which led to our current quarterly major day observation. Then came the resignation of Rev. Taylor to become the Pastor of Second Baptist Church. Rev. W. M. Robinson succeeded Rev. Taylor. The Trustee Board was organized in 1942, with Bro. Richard King as the first Chairman, and Bro. W. A. White as Treasure. The Junior Deacon Board was organized, with Bro. Hiram Merritt as the first Chairman, Bro. Arthur Domineck as Treasurer, and Bro. Sam Hunter as Instructor.

It was during Rev. Robinson's administration that the church membership grew to the extent the current sanctuary was no longer large enough to accommodate the membership for worship services. A committee was appointed to look for a new site. A new location was selected at 53 West 23rd Street. Construction began on the new site October 13 in 1947 and we marched into the new Sanctuary on June 1, 1950.

Urban Renewal caused us to seek another site, the present site was selected at 2414 Baldwin Street the members worked hard and prayed much during this time of struggle and the building was completed. Again we marched into the new Sanctuary in May of 1958. The first church bus was purchased in 1959. The first church parsonage, located at 5231 Dorsey Street was also purchased in 1959.

Rev. Robinson served with us from 1939 to 1960. He resigned to accept the pastorate at the Eastern Star Baptist Church in Indianapolis, Indiana. Rev Joe Q. Millsaps, an active member of the church and a promising young minister served the church as acting pastor while the church was searching for a new leader. The church called Rev. W. H. Thompson, on April 18, 1961, of Detroit, Michigan. He accepted the responsibility and preached his first sermon as pastor on the first Sunday in May 1961. Rev Thompson resigned in 1978, to organize another Church. Rev Robert Allen, Associated Pastor of the Orchard Baptist Church was selected as our next Pastor. He was installed on July 29, 1979 by his Pastor, Rev. Harold K. Lester, and Rev. B. W. McFarland of the Olive Baptist Church of Dayton, Ohio. Under his administration, renovation was made to the church. This work was completed and dedicated on October 3, 1982. This included a partitioned multipurpose room for use of a dining room, Sunday school classrooms, and a choir room. A new pastor's study, secretary offices, and lounges for men and women were also supplemental. The Sanctuary's blown ceiling and lights were donated by various members; in addition, a ramp and new steps were also added to the church. Rev. Allen resigned in 1983 and later became Pastor of the New Zion Baptist Church.

The Lord saw fit to send us a very young man, Rev. C. J. Bryant, III, from the Hopewell Baptist Church, in Dalton, Georgia, as our next Pastor on July 22, 1984, and was officially installed on Sunday, September 16, 1984. Rev. Bryant served capably as our Pastor and then accepted a call at the Vollintine Baptist Church in Memphis, Tennessee, on July 23, 1989.

In the interim period between Pastors in 1990, we sold the old Parsonage and purchased a new one at 1119 Anita Drive. Rev. Edward D. Seals of the Macedonia Baptist Church of Albion, Michigan was chosen as our next Leader. Rev. Seals was called in July 1980. He preached his first sermon as Pastor on the first Sunday in August 1990. He was installed on Sunday, November 11, 1990, by Rev. James E. Witcher of the New Mt. Zion Baptist Church of Muskegon, Michigan. He resigned in 1992 to accept a Pastorate in Battle Creek, Michigan.

Rev. K. Bernard Miller, Associated Pastor of Tucker Baptist Church was selected as our next Pastor in December 1993 and resigned in May 1996. Rev. Sean F. Teal of Dalton, Georgia was selected as our Pastor in April, 1997 and resigned in May 1998. Elder Chester Alexander Harris of the New Salem Missionary Baptist accepted the call on August 22, 1999, and preached his first sermon as our pastor on September 12, 1999. Under his leadership the congregation purchased a new copier, replaced the roof on the Fellowship Hall, purchased a fifteen-passenger van, and added Larry Turner Sr., to the Deacon Board. Pastor Harris's Faithful Understanding and Agreement contract was terminated on May 11, 2005, after much prayer and supplication the membership elected to call Reverend Terrance A. Hannah to be our undershepherd on May 6, 2007 and he still continues to serve as our Pastor. A new steeple was added under his leadership. From this great Congregation many Deacons have been ordained and many answered the call to the Gospel Ministry. Some are the Late Reverends Willie Millsaps, Henry Sledge, Samuel Spence, Prince Read, Crishon Moore, O. C. Davis, John Lewis, James Bell, Joe Q. Millsaps, Ezra

Fears, Robert Knox, A. L. Domineck and Floyd Humphrey. We still have laboring for the Lord, Reverend Clark Williams. The Lord blessed us in March of 2013 to add to our ministerial staff with Bro. Kenneth Simpson, Sr. answering the call to the ministry. On Sunday, April 6, 2014 New Emmanuel Missionary Baptist Church licensed its first female Minister Sister Debra Ann Morgan. Minister Sharon Williams and Minister Norman Freeman also accepted their calling to the preaching ministry and are Associates of the ministerial staff.

From 1915 to this present day, the Lord has called many saints home and has allowed many to come. Due to the city of Chattanooga restructuring some streets, our current location at 2414 Baldwin Street address was changed to 139 E. 25th Street. We praise God for His faithfulness to us as we continue to work for HIM as we MARCH TO ZION, to hear God say "Well done, good and faithful servant.